2011 Movie List: Black Swan

As soon as I saw the teaser trailer for this film, I knew it was my kind of film, and definitely one to watch out for in 2011. Having been nominated for Best Picture, Best Actress, Best Director and Best Supporting Actress at last night’s Golden Globes, it seems it definitely is.

Plot summary (courtesy of IMDB): A ballet dancer wins the lead in “Swan Lake” and is perfect for the role of the delicate White Swan, but slowly loses her mind as she becomes more and more like the evil twin sister of the White Swan, the Black Swan.

I am always impressed by Natalie Portman‘s performances, from Leon through to V for Vendetta, and I think she pretty much tops my list of favourite actresses. However, the sheer concept and originality of the film really appeals. Also, it has already had backlash from the dance community, which I always think is a positive – if a film can have that kind of affect before it is released, then it is definitely worth a watch.

Mila Kunis seems to be one to watch. I feared for her after the whole American Psycho 2 debacle, but this seems to be bringing back a bit of credibility.

Will update you all when I have seen it. Eap.

Check out the trailer:

~ by aaronhuckett on January 17, 2011.

3 Responses to “2011 Movie List: Black Swan”

  1. It’s on my one to watch list too!

  2. Love the blog Aaron. Will be right there with you watching this one. Most certainly my kind of film.

Leave a Reply

 
